9 Tips to Get Started with LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga

By Jocelyn Buhlman

The brand-new game, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, released today, letting players adventure across all nine movies in the Star Wars saga for the very first time! Each film is reimaged with LEGO’s signature brand of wacky humor, while immersing players in the expansive story of the Star Wars films.

With a galaxy so big, it can be a little intimidating to jump into the adventure—but never fear! We’re using the Force to bring you wisdom on how to maximize your gameplay for the most epic experience possible. Check out our top tips for getting started with LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

1. You can explore the trilogies in any order:
Whether you prefer to play in release order, chronological order, or however your heart desires, LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga gives you the freedom to explore the nine films in the Skywalker Saga. Star with Episode I to play the prequel trilogy or go classic by starting at Episode IV to play the original trilogy. Rather just hop into the adventure of Star Wars: The Force Awakens? Hey, we won’t judge! Just start with Episode VII and enjoy playing as Rey, Finn, Poe, and more as you explore the sequel trilogy. It’s your galaxy, so explore it how you please!

2. There are over 300 playable characters:
In the biggest LEGO Star Wars game yet, it’s only natural that there would be a massive cast of playable characters. The game’s only spanning the entire Skywalker Saga, after all! Whether you want to soar as Poe Dameron or give into the Dark Side as Darth Maul, you will be able to choose from a legion of heroes, villains, and more.

3. Make sure to upgrade your characters:
New to LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga is a range of character classes, including Jedi, Hero, Dark Side, Scavenger, Scoundrel, and more! Depending on which class you chose, you’ll be able to upgrade unique skills, abilities, and features by uncovering Kyber Bricks. Keep upgrading your characters to help them reach their maximum potential in the galaxy!

4. Pilot over 100 vehicles from across the galaxy:
Jump to lightspeed with more than 100 vehicles from the Star Wars films, including classics like the Millennium Falcon, X-Wings Fighters, and more. Plus, this is definitely what we call podracing when you can zoom across Tatooine during the Boonta Eve Classic.  If rebelling is more your style, join dogfights and defeat Super Star Destroyers that you can even board and explore.

5. Unlock over 20 different planets:
It’s a big galaxy, so don’t forget to explore! From the Mesas of Geonosis and the swamps of Dagobah, to the snowfields of Hoth, play through the saga and unlock hidden quests as you visit classic and iconic locations from your favorite Star Wars films.

6. Check out the Freeplay Mode:
Ever wanted to play through Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back as Jar Jar Binks? Fight against Kylo Ren as Padme Amidala? Once you complete each level’s Story Mode, you will be able to access Freeplay Mode to explore the level with a wide variety of characters who are not necessarily canon to the story—but with their unique abilities, you’ll be able to explore even more, so you can keep unlocking new collectibles as your play towards completion.

7. Play with your friends in Local Co-Op:
Local co-op will return in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, with all nine films being available for Local Co-op at launch. Grab a pal and get ready to explore the galaxy together!

8. Turn on Mumble Mode:
While some of the previous LEGO Star Wars games featured non-verbal communication sound effects, this LEGO Star Wars game features full voice acting! If you’re craving a classic experience, don’t worry. Head to the “Extras” menu and turn on Mumble Mode for a gaming experience channeling the old school sound effects of prior LEGO Star Wars games.

9. Keep an eye out for Easter eggs:
It’s not LEGO Star Wars without lots of fun details and gags. Even from watching the trailers, you can spot Easter eggs like C-3PO getting his arm painted red and Luke looking at a photo of a younger Obi-Wan partying with his Clone Troopers. More in-jokes and gags await across your gameplay, so pay attention and you’ll find yourself laughing again and again at LEGO’s clever attention to detail.